I saw the light.
I also saw Elvis, complete in glitterfied regalia, hanging out with Barbie, Tiger Woods, Elephant Woman, and some guy with a leopard fez hat.

None of this was in a dream, nor the influence of my imagination.  Rather, it was the imagination of the artists who hosted Cosmic Carnival.  True to the title of the show, the artwork was colorful, wild, imaginative and fun.  Popcorn was served, and calliope music jingle-jangled through the crowd. 

There were pieces with multiple eyeballs and numerous legs, worthy of their own sideshow pedestals. Elvis hung from the ceiling, in the form of a gold glitter swag lamp.  A tiny Tiger Woods figure complete with golf club, perched on piece titled 'Tiger Swings His Big Stick'. Barbie pranced on a banner with pickles parading around her.  There were multiple mixed media boxes one could peek inside, and find delightful vintage wind-up toys or profound phrenology heads.

The only thing this carnival was missing, was a barker to guess your weight. That's ok. Because with the smell of pocorn in the air, I felt light-hearted, like a kid.  I saw the light and I went into it. Although my life didn't flash before my eyes, I don't think I'll ever be the same after seeing Elvis on the swag lamp.   Plus, I now have an unnatural craving for cotton candy.
9/27/2012 12:36:21 am

good post

Reply



Leave a Reply.